Bulbs for Patti

I’m so sorry it has been so long since my last post, I’ve had a lot going on.

Spring has sprung and is slowly turning into summer. I tried some new bulbs this year, tulips, that I’ve always had trouble growing. I had about a 2/3rds success rate, and the highlights are below.

These are red, white and blue hyacinth flowers. I’ve been growing these bulbs for years, and they are my favorite since they have such an intoxicating aroma. Very sad they are only around for four weeks a year in late winter.

P1060333

Close-up

P1060334

I found these two seasons ago at a big-box, and have been pleasantly surprised by their subtle beauty

P1060338

This is a fresia flower, another bulb I’ve grown for years. They have a lovely, soft lemon scent

P1060341

And the tulips, this magenta one was cool, but all of them were unexpected, as I planted them so long ago in October.

P1060421

This one was red on the inside, and looked quite devilish

P1060422

Interesting coloration on the outside

P1060423

These ones started out looking like dinosaurs, or even the plant from Little Shop of Horrors

P1060424

FEED ME!

P1060428

Gotcha!

P1060436

It was spectacular, and my favorite color combo – red, yellow and green

P1060437

These were grown downtown

P1060444

Like an egg in the middle, no?

P1060446

Peach blossoms in the garden (much more on that in a later post)

P1060452

And plums too

P1060455

This redbud tree blooming outside of the fort was the last harbinger of spring

P1060478

Next up, old west blasts it’s way to life

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

